Main content
Acclaim: Recent honors for Emory faculty and staff

Emory faculty and staff are frequently recognized for their work locally, nationally and internationally. The following is a sampling of recent accolades.

Honors highlighted in this column:

Ashley and Schwartz recognized for Graduate Medical Education

Emory School of Medicine representatives received two awards from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.

Ann Schwartz, professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences and director of psychiatry residency education, received the Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award, which recognizes program directors who have fostered innovation and improvement in their residency/fellowship programs and served as exemplary role models for residents and fellows. The award is given to 10 program directors nationwide and is the top honor for a program director.

Sharon Ashley, senior program coordinator for emergency medicine education, received the Debra L. Dooley GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award. The honor goes to program coordinators in recognition of their in-depth understanding of the accreditation process, excellent communication and interpersonal skills and projects to improve residency programs. 

Fry Brown elected to executive committee

Bandy Professor of Preaching Teresa L. Fry Brown was recently elected to the executive committee of the Academy of Homiletics as second vice president. She will serve as president of the academy for the 2022-2023 term. Founded in 1965, the Academy of Homiletics is open to teachers and doctoral graduate students of homiletics, with a membership that spans the world. Fry Brown’s election came during the academy’s annual business meeting on Dec. 5.

Schneidman Award goes to Lamis

Dorian Lamis, assistant professor in psychiatry and behavioral sciences, received the Edwin Schneidman Award from the American Association of Suicidology. The award, founded in 1973 to honor American suicidologist Edwin Shneidman, honors scholars under the age of 40 for their contributions to the research of suicidology.

Lamis serves as the director of education and training at the Injury Prevention Research Center at Emory, the director of research at the Grady Nia Project, and the associate director of the Postdoctoral Residency Program in Health Service Psychology. He has a strong interest in clinical work, especially with patients with serious mental illness who are at-risk for suicide and/or other self-harm behaviors. He provides direct clinical and administrative services in the Grady Memorial Hospital Behavioral Health Outpatient Clinic, as well as supervises psychology practicum students, interns and postdoctoral fellows.


Lartey appointed as Suffragan Bishop

Charles Howard Candler Professor of Pastoral Theology and Spiritual Care Emmanuel Y. Lartey has been appointed Suffragan Bishop (Presiding Bishop’s Deputy) for the North American Mission Diocese (NAMD) of The Methodist Church Ghana, which consists of Ghanaian immigrant churches in the United States and Canada. Lartey was appointed during the 11th Biennial/49th Conference of The Methodist Church Ghana, held in Accra, Ghana.


Lavery elected as Hastings Center fellow

Jim Lavery has been elected a Fellow of the Hastings Center. Lavery is the inaugural Conrad N. Hilton Chair in Global Health Ethics, professor in the Hubert Department of Global Health in the Rollins School of Public Health and faculty of the Center for Ethics.

The Hastings Center is a nonpartisan, nonprofit bioethics research institution that addresses fundamental ethical and social issues in health, health care, science and technology. Hastings Center Fellows are individuals whose work has informed scholarship and public understanding of complex ethical issues in those areas.


McCauley named to National Academy of Medicine’s Governing Council

Linda McCauley, dean of the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, has been named to the Governing Council of the National Academy of Medicine. The three-year term will begin July 1, 2021. Founded in 1970 as the Institute of Medicine (IOM), the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) is one of three academies that make up the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (the National Academies) in the U.S.


Smith’s ‘Talking Therapy’ wins first place award

“Talking Therapy: Knowledge and Power in American Psychiatric Nursing” by Kylie M. Smith won first place in the 2020 American Journal of Nursing’s Book of the Year Award in history and public policy. Smith, assistant professor in the School of Nursing, is the Andrew W. Mellon Faculty Fellow for Nursing and Humanities. She works with the School of Nursing and other areas to build collaborations between nursing and the liberal arts.

“Talking Therapy” traces the rise of modern psychiatric nursing in the U.S. from the 1930s to the 1970s. Through an analysis of the relationship between nurses and other mental health professions, with an emphasis on nursing scholarship, the book demonstrates the inherently social construction of “mental health,” and highlights the role of nurses in challenging, and complying with, modern approaches to psychiatry.


Strocchia’s book is collaborative award co-winner

“Gender, Health, and Healing, 1250-1550,” edited by Sara Ritchey and Sharon Strocchia was named co-winner of the 2020 Collaborative Project Award by the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women and Gender.

Strocchia is a professor in the Department of History.


Sullivan and Dogan to be recognized by Atlanta Business Chronicle

The Atlanta Business Chronicle’s 2021 Leaders in Corporate Citizenship Awards will include recognition of two honorees with Emory connections. The awards honor individuals who intersect social good and corporate success.

Willie Sullivan, managing director of Emory’s John R. Lewis Racial Justice Case Competition, will receive a Rising Star award during the virtual event on Feb. 18. Tjuan Dogan, former assistant vice president for social impact innovation with Emory’s Office of Government and Community Affairs, will receive the 2021 Leaders in Corporate Citizenship Award (Top Practitioner). Learn more and purchase tickets to the event here.


Yannakakis shares in article prize

Yanna Yannakakis and co-author Bianca Premo won the 2020 Jane Burbank Article Prize from the American Society for Legal History. Their entry was “A Court of Sticks and Branches: Indian Jurisdiction in Colonial Mexico and Beyond,” published in American Historical Review.

Yannakakis is associate professor in the Department of History and the 2018-2021 Winship Distinguished Research Professorship in History.

Recent News