Main content
ACNM Honors Nursing Faculty and Staff

Multiple faculty members and alumni from Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing were honored at the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) annual meeting on May 18-22, 2019. The 64thannual conference was held in the Washington, DC area and serves as the premier opportunity for midwives, students, and other women’s health care providers to share knowledge and experience, celebrate advances in maternity and women’s health care and more.

Assistant Professor Nicole Carlson, PhD, MSN, Assistant Clinical Professor Desiree Clement, DNP, APRN, CNM, FNP-BC, and alumni Michelle Dynes, PhD, MPH, MSN, RN, CNM and Erin Biscone, DNP, CNM, FACNM officially became Fellows of the ACNM along with 22 other recipients from across the country.

Additional highlights included:

  • Erin Biscone also received the 2019 Public Policy Award
  • Alexis Dunn, PhD, CNM and Nicole Carlson’s co-authored manuscript was nominated for best article of the year in the Journal of Midwifery and Women’s Health. The manuscript centered on antepartum care of obese women during pregnancy and made it into the top three finalists.
  • Nicole Carlson co-presented at the conference on Predicting, Preventing, and Treating Postpartum Hemorrhage: Newest Evidence on Ways that Midwives Can Individualize their Care by Maternal and Labor Characteristics.
  • Desiree Clement, a member of the conference planning committee, presented during a four-hour workshop titled Midwives do more than just deliveries: Increasing your midwifery comfort level with Primary Care and Gynecology complaints.
  • Alexis Dunn also delivered two presentations – Complement Activation and Clinical Predictors of Preterm Birth and Revitalizing Your Affiliate Chapter Through Innovative Leadership.
  • Assistant Professor and Midwifery Specialty Coordinator Kate Woeber, PhD, CNM, MPH gave a tabletop presentation on Assessment of Midwifery Student Clinical Competency, and received an Excellence in Teaching award from students. The Georgia ACNM Affiliate, of which Woeber is President, also received an Exemplary Affiliate award.
  • Students Lilah Crews-Pless, Helen Clark, and Audrey Copeland also headed the market table to raise money for the Georgia ACNM Affiliate’s quest for full practice authority. A reception followed that was sponsored by Emory and hosted by Marifel Verlohr.

“We midwifery faculty are so thankful for all the support we have from the School of Nursing,” Woeber says. “It allows us to make all of these things happen!”

Other celebrated achievements include Ellen Martin, former Emory faculty member, mentor and preceptor, who was awarded the Dorothea M. Lang Pioneer Award, one of ACNM’s highest honors. Nominated by Emory faculty, Linda Abraham, CNM, received an Excellence in Precepting award for her exceptional mentorship of many students training at CIMA International Women’s Health Services.

Emory has been a leader in educating Nurse-Midwives for over 40 years. The focus of the program is to prepare the next generation of nurse-midwives capable of leading positive change and providing the primary care needs of essentially healthy women across their lifespan, along with the care of normal newborns. Our faculty bring their diverse national and international leadership, research, and clinical experience into the classroom to advance the future of midwifery care and education.

Recent News