Main content
Emory Williams Awards honor distinguished undergraduate teaching

Dianne Marie Stewart (left), associate professor of religion and African American studies, received the Emory Williams Teaching Award from Carla Freeman, senior associate dean for faculty, during the Emory College diploma ceremony. Emory Photo/Video

The Emory Williams Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award is presented annually at Commencement to faculty members in each of the four undergraduate schools in recognition of a record of excellence in undergraduate teaching. The award was established by Emory Williams, a 1932 Emory College alumnus and longtime trustee. 

Emory College of Arts and Sciences selects three award recipients, drawn from the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Each of the other undergraduate schools — Goizueta Business School, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing and Oxford College — selects one award recipient.

The 2019 honorees: 

  • Cassandra Leah Quave 00C, assistant professor of dermatology and assistant professor of human health, Emory College
  • Eri Saikawa, associate professor of environmental sciences, Emory College
  • Effrosyni Seitaridou, associate professor of physics, Oxford College
  • Reshma H. Shah, associate professor in the practice of marketing, Goizueta Business School
  • Kylie M. Smith, assistant professor of nursing, Andrew W. Mellon Faculty Fellow for Nursing and the Humanities, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing
  • Dianne Marie Stewart, associate professor of religion and African American studies, Emory College

Recent News