Main content
Three BME faculty inducted into AIMBE College of Fellows

Media Contact

Holly Korschun

Three faculty members from the Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering at Georgia Tech and Emory University have been accorded one of the highest professional distinctions awarded a medical and biological engineer. Mark Borodovsky, PhD, Manu Platt, PhD, and W. Robert Taylor, MD, PhD, have been inducted into the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) College of Fellows.

The College of Fellows comprises the top two percent of medical and biological engineers. College membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering and medicine research, practice or education” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of medical and biological engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to bioengineering education.”

Borodovsky, Regents’ Professor in the Coulter Department and director of the Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Genomics at Georgia Tech, was nominated, reviewed and elected by peers and members of the College of Fellows for “outstanding contribution to bioinformatics by developing effective algorithms critically important for accelerated progress of genomics science and engineering.”

Platt, associate professor, Georgia Research Alliance Distinguished Scholar, and co-founder of Project ENGAGES at Georgia Tech, was recognized for “outstanding contributions to diversity, inclusion, community involvement and interdisciplinary research aimed at global health problems and domestic health disparities.”

Taylor, who is the Marcus Chair in Vascular Medicine, professor of medicine and biomedical engineering, director of the Division of Cardiology, and executive vice chair of the Department of Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine, was honored for “outstanding contributions advancing our understanding of the pathology of cardiovascular disease.”

Borodovsky, Platt and Taylor were inducted (along with 156 colleagues who make up the AIMBE College of Fellows Class of 2019) at a formal ceremony during the AIMBE Annual Meeting at the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, DC.

While most AIMBE Fellows hail from the United States, the College of Fellows has inducted Fellows representing 30 countries. AIMBE Fellows are employed in academia, industry, clinical practice and government.

AIMBE Fellows are among the most distinguished medical and biological engineers including two Nobel Prize laureates, 17 Fellows having received the Presidential Medal of Science and/or Technology and Innovation, and 158 also inducted into the National Academy of Engineering, 72 inducted into the National Academy of Medicine and 31 inducted into the National Academy of Sciences.

Recent News