Main content
Emory medical education leader honored with Courage to Teach Award

Media Contact

Jaffar Khan, MD, vice chair of Neurologic Education and associate professor of Neurology at Emory University School of Medicine has been recognized with the 2016 Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award is given to program directors who have fostered innovation and improvement in their residency programs and served as exemplary role models for residents. Khan is one of 10 awardees to receive this distinction this year. The award was presented today at the ACGME’s Annual Educational Conference in Chicago.

“This year’s awardees highlight the increasingly high quality work and innovation underway in the graduate medical education community. The many successes achieved by the recipients showcase the important contributions of every member of the community, including institutions, residents, designated institutional officers, program directors, and coordinators,” said Thomas J. Nasca, MD, chief executive officer, ACGME.

“Dr. Khan’s commitment to teaching future neurologists and other health professionals is unparalleled and this award exemplifies his success as a clinician educator,” says Allan Levey, MD, PhD, chair of the Department of Neurology at Emory.

About the ACGME

The ACGME is a private, non-profit, professional organization responsible for the accreditation of approximately 9,600 residency and fellowship programs and approximately 700 institutions that sponsor these programs in the United States. Residency and fellowship programs educate over 120,000 resident physicians in 130 specialties and subspecialties. The ACGME’s mission is to improve health care and population health by assessing and advancing the quality of resident physicians’ education through accreditation.

Recent News