Main content
Search advisory committee appointed for next dean of Oxford College

A search advisory committee has been appointed to identify candidates to be the next dean of Oxford College.

"A transition in leadership in Emory's colleges and schools offers an opportunity to reexamine values, consider priorities and select the best person for leading the unit forward," says Claire Sterk, Emory provost and executive vice president for academic affairs. "The time is now at hand to realize this opportunity at Oxford College."

Oxford College Dean Stephen Bowen announced in February that he would retire from the role in August 2016. "It is the most gratifying position I have ever had," Bowen, who became dean in 2005, wrote in a message to Oxford staff. "Your dedication to this uniquely effective institution has certainly helped to make it so."

Sterk has charged the search committee — chaired by Erika James, Dean of Goizueta Business School — with the task of recommending promising candidates for the Oxford College deanship.

Representing a broad set of constituencies, the committee (listed below) will identify a slate of promising candidates for the Oxford College deanship for consideration by the provost. A well-known search firm in higher education, Heidrick & Struggles, will assist committee members in accomplishing their charge. 

One of the initial steps in this important process will be finalizing the position descriptions. Listening sessions will be held to gather diverse perspectives on the Oxford experience, insights on future directions, and feedback on desired leadership qualities for the new dean.

Nominations for dean's candidates may be submitted to

Search Advisory Committee members:

Erika James (Chair)
John H. Harland Dean and Professor of Organization and Management
Goizueta Business School

Chris Arrendale
President, Oxford Alumni Association

Kenneth Carter
Professor of Psychology, Oxford College

Robin Forman
Dean, Emory College of Arts and Sciences

Myra Frady
Dean for Resource Planning and CFO, Oxford College

Jeffery Galle
Director, Center for Academic Excellence, Oxford College

Nitya Jacob
Associate Professor of Biology, Oxford College

Joseph Moon, Jr.
Dean for Campus Life, Oxford College

Shoba Patel
President, Student Government Association, Oxford College

Teresa Rivero
Trustee, Emory University

Recent News