Main content
Take Note
Pride awards honor those who represent the mission of affirming campus

The Office of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) Life Advisory Committee has announced the winners of the 22nd Annual Pride Awards.  

The awards and recognitions will be presented at the 22nd Annual Pride Awards on March 4, at 7 p.m. with a reception at 6:30 p.m. at the Miller Ward Alumni House on the campus. The event is free and open to the public.

The awards are given to students, alumni, student organizations, and faculty members who represent the Office of LGBT Life’s mission to create an affirming and just campus environment.

The Keeping the Faith Award has been re-named to honor the legacy of the former Dean of Religious Life and the Chapel, Susan Henry-Crowe. Henry-Crowe was the first recipient of the Keeping the Faith Award in 2011. She left Emory this year to serve as the Chief Executive of the United Methodist Board of Church and Society.

At the awards ceremony, student leaders who received support from the J. Michael Aycock Leadership Development Fund and D. Daniel D. Adame Student Leadership Fund will be recognized. The 2014 graduates will also be recognized for their academic achievements.

The 2014 honorees are:

  • Outstanding Transgender Advocate Award: Samantha Allen, 15PhD Department of Women’s, Gender, and sexuality studies graduate assistant in the Office of LGBT Life
  • Outstanding Ally of the Year Award: Alpha Theta Chapter of Alpha Tau Omega student organization
  • Chesnut LGBT Person of the Year Award: Scott Turner Schofield, 02C alumnus
  • GALA Leadership Award: Cameron Coppala, 16C Emory Pride secretary and TransForming Gender Discussion Group facilitator
  • Susan Henry-Crowe Keeping the Faith Award: Sacred Worth Student Organization at Candler School of Theology
  • Alum of the Year Award: John Blevins, 05ThD associate professor in Rollins School of Public Health
  • Fierce Leadership Award: Andy Ratto, 13G Founder of RoLL, Rollins and Laney LGBT Organization

Recent News