Main content
Acclaim: Honors for Brown, JanMohamed, Emory bioscientists and Trethewey

Stacia Brown has been named a finalist for the 2014 Townsend Prize for fiction.

Brown is senior director of development at Emory School of Medicine.

Her novel, "Accidents of Providence," is on the list for best novel in Georgia. This award is given every two years.

Stacia Brown

Abdul JanMohamed is a 2014 recipient of the Caribbean Philosophical Association awards.

 JanMohamed is professor of English and holds the August Baldwin Longstreet Chair in English and African American Studies departments.

The awards are given for contributions to Caribbean thought and philosophical literature.

Abdul JanMohamed

Natasha Trethewey is the recipient of the 2014 William Meredith Award for Poetry.

Trethewey is the Robert W. Woodruff Professor of English and Creative

Writing and director of the Creative Writing Program. She is currently serving a second term as U.S. Poet Laureate.

Trethewey was recognized for her talent as a poet and her work to promote poetry as an art form to American audiences. As part of the award, the publication of a chapbook by Trethewey, "Congregation," is scheduled for National Poetry Month in April.

Natasha Trethewey

Emory bioscience administrators, a physician/researcher, scientists, a graduate student and entrepreneurs were honored by Georgia Bio with its annual Industry Growth Awards.

David Perryman received the 2014 Georgia Bio Industry Growth Award. Perryman is COO of Drug Innovation Ventures at Emory (DRIVE), a not-for-profit biotechnology company that fosters the development of university-based therapeutics.

Todd Sherer received a Georgia Bio Community Award for significant contributions to Georgia’s life sciences industry. Sherer is associate vice president for research administration and director of Emory’s Office of Technology Transfer.

Ami Klin received a Georgia Bio Innovation Award.  Klin is director of the Marcus Autism Center, chief of the Division of Autism & Related Disorders in the Department of Pediatrics at Emory School of Medicine, and a Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar.

Dana Fallaize received the Georgia Bio Emerging Leader of the Year Award. Fallaize is a graduate student in Emory’s Microbiology and Molecular Genetics program and an intern in the Office of Technology Transfer.

Henry Edelhauser received a Georgia Bio Deal of the Year Award for Clearside Biomedical, Inc., a biotech startup company based on research from the laboratories of Edelhauser at Emory University and Mark Prausnitz at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Recent News