Main content
Honors for Bowman, Meltz, Schinazi, Gupta and Sperling

Joel Bowman received the Herschbach Prize for Theoretical Chemistry, presented at the Dynamics of Molecular Collisions 2013 Conference.

Bowman is the Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Theoretical Chemistry.

Bowman received the prize for his work on developing potential energy surfaces.

The prize is named for Nobel Prize winning chemist Dudley Herschbach, who describes the award's criteria as "bold and architectural work" that "addresses fundamental, challenging, frontier questions … and typically excites evangelical fervor that recruits many followers."

Joel Bowman

Bryan Meltz was commissioned for a photography exhibition at the David J. Sencer Museum at the U.S. Centers for Disease Control (CDC), on view until Sept. 10.

Meltz is a photographer with Emory Photo/Video.

"Cancer: Survivors in Focus" is a three-part photography exhibition that gives a glimpse into the lives of people living with, through and beyond a cancer diagnosis. Meltz's photographs, entitled "Close to Home," capture moments in the lives of CDC employees who have survived cancer.
Bryan Meltz

Raymond Schinazi and Sanjay Gupta are receiving awards from the Friends of the National Library of Medicine recognizing their contributions to improving America's health.

Schinazi is the Frances Winship Walters Professor of Pediatrics at the School of Medicine and director of the Laboratory of Biochemical Pharmacology. He is also a senior research career scientist at the Atlanta Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and director of the Scientific Working Group on HIV Reservoirs and Viral Eradication for Emory's Center for AIDS Research.

Schinazi will receive the FNLM Distinguished Medical Science Award, recognizing individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science and medicine over the past several decades, including revolutionary medical research and development of groundbreaking treatments.

Gupta is an Emory neurosurgery faculty member and chief medical correspondent for CNN. His neurosurgery practice is centered at Grady Memorial Hospital, where he specializes in all facets of neurosurgical care.

Gupta will receive the FNLM Distinguished Health Communications Award, recognizing a member of the print or electronic press who has demonstrated consistent and sustained distinction in reporting biomedical and health information to the public.

Raymond Schinazi

Sanjay Gupta

Laurence S. Sperling has been named president-elect of the American Society for Preventive Cardiology.

Sperling is the medical director of preventive cardiology at Emory Healthcare and professor of medicine in the School of Medicine. He serves as medical director for a number of Emory programs, including the HeartWise Risk Reduction Program and Optimal Living. He founded and directs the first and only LDL apheresis program in the state of Georgia.  

Sperling's two-year-term will begin next year as he succeeds current president Stephen L. Kopecky from the Mayo Clinic.

Laurence S. Sperling

"Acclaim" recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the "Acclaim" column, contact

Recent News