Main content
Honors for Downey, Fineman, Mayberg and Scheinberg

C. Aiden Downey helped found a school program that was awarded a $1.5 million grant.

Downey is director of undergraduate studies in the Division of Educational Studies.

The project-based, alternative high school senior year program received the grant from the School District of Philadelphia, where it is based. It is expanding to 500 students from the 30 it currently serves.  

C. Aiden Downey

Martha Fineman received an honorary juris doctor degree from Sweden’s University of Lund.

Fineman is Robert W. Woodruff Professor of Law. She directs both the Feminism and Legal Theory Project and the Vulnerability and the Human Condition Initiative in the School of Law.

She received the honor in recognition of exemplary work in the study of feminist and family law. Fineman holds the University of Lund’s Hedda Andersson Guest Professor Chair for 2012-2013.

Martha Fineman

Helen Mayberg was the recipient of a Robert J. and Claire Pasarow Foundation Award in Neuropsychiatry Research.

Mayberg is professor of psychiatry, neurology and radiology, and the Dorothy C. Fuqua Chair in Psychiatric Imaging and Therapeutics at the School of Medicine.  

Mayberg received the award for her contributions to the field of neuropsychiatry. The Pasarow awards were created in 1987 to honor extraordinary achievement, creativity and distinction in the areas of cancer, cardiovascular disease and neuropsychiatry.

Helen Mayberg

Paul J. Scheinberg is the 2013 recipient of Saint Joseph's Hospital of Atlanta's E. Napier Burson Jr., MD Award of Distinction.

Scheinberg is chief medical officer of Saint Joseph's Hospital.

He was honored for his commitment to his patients and to the practice of medicine. He is a founding partner of Atlanta Pulmonary Group and a leader in the field of lung cancer and has participated in numerous research studies advancing pulmonary care.

Paul J. Scheinberg
"Acclaim" recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the "Acclaim" column, contact

Recent News