Main content
Honors for Bowman, Johnson and Shutt

Joel Bowman is the 2013 winner of the Herschbach Prize in theory. The prize is named for Harvard University emeritus professor and Nobel Prize winner Dudley Herschbach.  

Bowman is the Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Chemistry.  

The award is presented at the Dynamics of Molecular Collisions meeting to prominent scientists who have made seminal contributions to the field. The awardees are all members of the National Academy of Sciences.
Joel Bowman

Luke Timothy Johnson won first place for his book "Prophetic Jesus, Prophetic Church: The Challenge of Luke-Acts to Contemporary Christians" (Eerdmans Publishing Company 2011) from the Catholic Press Association.

Johnson is R.W. Woodruff Professor of New Testament and Christian Origins in the Candler School of Theology.  

Johnson's book was awarded first place in the Scripture category of the Catholic Press Association's 2012 book awards. In their announcement of the award, the Catholic Press Association wrote, "Johnson clearly, passionately and persuasively challenges Christians to embrace four hallmarks of a prophetic church—prayer, itinerancy, servant leadership, and voluntary poverty."

Luke Timothy Johnson

Michael Shutt is the recipient of a Leon Allen & Winston Johnson Community Leadership Award.

Shutt is the assistant dean for Campus Life and Director of the Office of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) Life at Emory.

The Human Rights Campaign Atlanta Steering Committee presents this award each year to the individual or group who offers distinguished service and leadership for the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender community.

Michael Shutt

Acclaim" recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the "Acclaim" column, contact

Recent News