Main content
Honors for Blumenthal, Lin, McConnell, Rushdie and Thourani

David R. Blumenthal has been elected to the Academic Council of the European Academy of Sciences.

Blumenthal is Jay and Leslie Cohen Professor of Judaic Studies in Emory College of Arts and Sciences.  

He has been elected to the council as representative of the socio-economic sciences and humanities.

David R. Blumenthal

Edward Lin has been appointed editor-in-chief of Bariatric Surgical Practice and Patient Care.  

Lin is surgical director of the Emory Bariatric Center.  He is also associate professor of surgery in the School of Medicine and director of the endosurgery unit.  

Lin has authored numerous peer-reviewed articles and chapters on topics involving bariatric and gastrointestinal surgery, metabolism and nutritional support. He also serves on the editorial board of Bariatric Times.  

Edward Lin

Kevin McConnell has been awarded the Shock Society Research Fellowship for Early Career Investigators.  

McConnell is a faculty member of both the acute and critical care surgery service and surgical intensive care unit of Emory University Hospital.

The award is given to support the career development of new investigators in the areas of trauma, shock, and sepsis, and is applied to funding a project that has intrinsic importance to the field.

Kevin McConnell

Salman Rushdie received the Lifetime Achievement Award given by the Asian American Writer’s Workshop.

Rushdie is University Distinguished Professor in Emory College.

The award celebrates Rushdie as writer and his 11 novels. Rushdie was honored by fellow authors Zadie Smith, Jonathan Safran Foer, Téa Obreht and Amitava Kumar at the awards presentation.  

Salman Rushdie

Vinod Thourani has been honored with the 2013 Dr. Dwight C. McGoon Award of the Thoracic Surgery Residents Association.

Thourani is associate professor of surgery at Emory School of Medicine; co-director of the Structural Heart and Valve Center of the Emory Heart and Vascular Center; associate director of the Cardiothoracic Surgery Residency Program; and associate director of the Cardiothoracic Surgery Clinical Research Unit.

The McGoon Award recognizes an outstanding young faculty member in cardiothoracic surgery and his or her commitment to resident education and mentorship.

Vinod Thourani
Acclaim" recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the "Acclaim" column, contact

Recent News