Main content
Honors for Hubbard, Meltz, Parimala, Schuchard and van der Vyver
Kristi Hubbard
Kristi Hubbard was awarded the IES Abroad Professional Development Award.

Hubbard is director of Emory's Center for International Programs Abroad.

IES Abroad is a global, not-for-profit academic consortium. Hubbard is active at the regional and national levels of NAFSA: Association of International Educators and serves on its Education Abroad Regulatory Practice Committee.

Bryan Meltz's
Bryan Meltz's photography was on the front page of the Health section of the Oct. 9 New York Times. Meltz is assistant director of Emory Photo/Video.

A slideshow of Meltz's photography illustrated a feature entitled "Pharmaceutical Study Aids," about a metro Atlanta family's experience with the drug Adderall.

Raman Parimaia
Raman Parimala will deliver the Noether Lecture at the 2013 Joint Mathematics Meetings.

Parimala is Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor of Mathematics.

She was selected for the lecture by the Association for Women in Mathematics

for her fundamental work in algebra and algebraic geometry with significant contributions to the study of quadratic forms, hermitian forms, linear algebraic groups and Galois cohomology.

W. Ronald Schuchard
W. Ronald Schuchard was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences at a ceremony on Oct. 6 in Cambridge, Mass.

Schuchard was among the 180 influential artists, scientists, scholars, authors and institutional leaders who were inducted into the AAAS, one of the nation's oldest and most prestigious learned societies.

Schuchard is the Goodrich C. White Professor of English. He is also a faculty advisor to Emory's Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (MARBL) and has been instrumental in developing its archive of 20th century Irish and English manuscript collections.  Schuchard founded and for 20 years directed the Richard Ellmann Lectures in Modern Literature.

Johan D. van der Vyver
Johan D. van der Vyver, was named an A-rated researcher by South Africa's National Research Foundation at a ceremony in Cape Town on Sept. 13.

van der Vyver is I.T. Cohen Professor of International Law and Human Rights at Emory Law. He spends summers in South Africa as a professor in the Department of Private Law at the University of Pretoria.

According to the National Research Foundation, A-rated researchers are "unequivocally recognized by their peers as leading international scholars in their respective fields, for the high quality and impact of recent research outputs."

"Acclaim" recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the weekly "Acclaim" column,

Recent News