Main content
Top Christian scholars to be featured in new lecture series

Media Contact

The Center for the Study of Law and Religion (CSLR) at Emory University has been awarded a $250,000 grant from the McDonald Agape Foundation to create a new lecture series designed to showcase the world’s preeminent Christian scholars on law, politics, and society.

The McDonald Distinguished Faculty Lectures on Christian Scholarship will begin in the fall of 2013 and call on the wisdom of a dozen McDonald Distinguished Professors at elite universities in the United States and the United Kingdom. These McDonald Professors include:

  • Nigel Biggar, Oxford University;
  • Sarah Coakley and David Ford, Cambridge University;
  • Jean Bethke Elshtain, University of Chicago; 
  • Paul Griffiths, Stanley Hauweras, and Richard Hays, Duke University;
  • David Hempton, Harvard University;
  • Mark Noll, University of Notre Dame;
  • Miroslav Volf and Nicholas Wolterstorff, Yale University;
  • N.T. Wright, retired Bishop of Durham; and
  • John Witte, Jr., CSLR director at Emory.

The series will focus on the place of Christian learning in American universities, most notably in American law schools. Witte and CSLR co-director Frank S. Alexander, Sam Nunn Professor of Law, have been directing a major Christian Legal Studies Project for the past 15 years, drawing together some 200 scholars from around the world, and producing more than 50 volumes of new scholarship.  The lecture series will build on the momentum of that project, says Witte.

Series details

Free and open to the public, the lecture series is slated to run approximately five years. The events will be hosted at Emory University School of Law. The first lectures will be announced next spring. 

Read the full story >>

Recent News