Main content
Emory faculty receive awards for outstanding teaching, research, leadership

Media Contact

Emory University faculty members will be honored with teaching, research and mentoring awards presented at the university’s commencement ceremony May 14.

• Sarah B. Freeman, Betty Tigner Turner clinical professor of nursing and affiliate faculty, Emory University Center for Ethics, receives the University Scholar/Teacher Award.

As this year’s recipient of the 2012 University Scholar/Teacher award, selected by Emory faculty on behalf of the United Methodist Church Board of Higher Education and Ministry, Freeman specializes in women's health and chronic disease management, and has been instrumental in establishing national accreditation for advanced practice nursing programs.

See: Freeman values lifelong learning, patient listening

•  Peggy Barlett, Goodrich C. White Professor of Anthropology and faculty liaison to the Office of Sustainability Initiatives, receives the Thomas Jefferson Award, which is presented to a faculty member or administrative officer in recognition of significant service to the university through personal activities, influence and leadership. Over the years, Barlett has dedicated herself to expanding awareness of environmental issues through curriculum development (e.g., the Piedmont Project), campus policies and community building.

See: Barlett put Emory on path to sustainability

 •  Harry Rusche, Professor of English, received the George P. Cuttino Award for Excellence in Mentoring, established in 1997 by John T. Glover. The 2012-2013 year will be Rusche's 50th year of teaching. Among his honors are the Emory University Outstanding Award early in his career in 1968, the Emory Williams Distinguished Teaching Award in 1987, and his appointment to the Arthur M. Blank Distinguished Teaching chair in 1992.

See: Rusche comes full circle as mentor and role model

Ten Emory professors receive the Emory Williams Award for Distinguished  Teaching. The university’s most prestigious awards for teaching were established in 1972 by alumnus Emory Williams. The awards in the arts and sciences are selected by a committee of Emory College of Arts and Sciences faculty. Goizueta Business School, Oxford College and Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing each present an award for excellence in undergraduate teaching, and one other award rotates among the professional schools.

The 2012 recipients of the Emory Williams Award are:

  • R. Skip Garibaldi, Winship Distinguished Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, Emory College of Arts and Sciences;
  • Louise Pratt, professor of classics, Emory College of Arts and Sciences;
  • Patrick Allitt, Cahoon Family Professor of American History, Emory College of Arts and Sciences;
  • Roger Rochat, Research Professor of Global Health, Rollins School of Public Health;
  • William B. Cody, professor of political science, Oxford College;
  • Kyle W. Petersen, professor of cell biology, School of Medicine;
  • Carolyn Miller Reilly, assistant professor of nursing, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing; 
  • Roy T. Black, professor in the practice of finance, Goizueta Business School; 
  • A. James Elliott, associate dean and co-director of the Professionalism Program, School of Law; 
  • Rex D. Matthews, associate professor in the practice of historical theologyCandler School of Theology.

Recent News